Senior Pastor Selection Committee Update- June 2024

Rock Hill News!   -  

Hey Rock Hill family! đź‘‹

This past Sunday, our church body unanimously voted to approve the Finance Committee’s recommendations for the Senior Pastor Selection Committee members!  This is a crucial step in our journey to find the next senior pastor of Rock Hill, and we are thrilled to be moving forward with this process! Here are the members of the SPSC: 

  • Tom Williams
  • Roger Berry
  • Virdell Howland
  • Carol Yarber
  • Scott Shaver
  • Justin Palmer
  • Melissa Hughes
  • Dylan Cleere
  • Shelley Modisette


The Senior Pastor Selection Committee has nine seats, with two assigned positions—the chair of the Finance Committee and the chair of the deacon body. The remaining seven slots are filled by members of the church body who were recommended by you. We are pleased to have a committee that represents the various demographics, vocational/educational backgrounds, service times, and ministries of Rock Hill! 

Over the next few months, the SPSC will meet to pray, receive training, and take the first steps in the search for the next senior pastor. Dr. Jim Richards, interim pastor of Rock Hill, will lead and train the committee.


Church, we are filled with anticipation and hope as we look forward to the next chapter of Rock Hill! As we step into these next few months, we invite you to join us in prayer…

  • Pray for wisdom, discernment, and clarity for our Senior Pastor Selection Committee as they pray and receive training over the next few weeks.
  • Pray for our Finance Committee and Executive Team as they lead throughout the transition.
  • Pray for the next Senior Pastor, his family, and his current church.
  • Pray that Rock Hill will stay focused on the mission and unified during this time of transition. 

Please email with any questions you may have!